Musing Monday’s 


Musing Mondays is a weekly meme created by Books and a Beat (originally known as Should Be Reading & A Daily Rythm) that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

I’m currently reading…

Up next I think I’ll read…

I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

I can’t wait to get a copy of…

I wish I could read ___, but…

I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: name a favorite book you’d take to the beach.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

 
What I’m currently reading….

Leave Me by Gayle Forman

I received an e-galley on Netgalley for Leave Me by Gayle Forman & I’m finding it extremely difficult to find any of the characters likable. This is my 1st Gayle Forman book & it’s also her first adult fiction book. The main protagonist is experiencing the stresses of work, marriage, parenthood, with little to no help. The book opens while Marybeth is experiencing a heart attack which I found interesting since a lot of women who experience heart attacks, are asymptomatic. Marybeth made a major decision that steers the course of the story in a very different direction…she packs up her bags and leaves her family behind. At this point I NEED to know how this all ends even if I’m not the biggest fan of the characters in this book. I’m already at the half-way point of this book & should have a review up this week.
 

Up next I think I’ll read…

How to Hang a Witch (How to Hang a Witch #1) by Adriana Mather

I do love my History but what made this subject a favorite for me in school was when we learned about the Salem Witch Trials. Ever since then, I will read anything Salem/Witches that I come across. I also happen to watch the deliciously dark tv series Salem. I know How to Hang a Witch is more of a fun take on the descendants but even for this, I’m game! I do however find it interesting that the author of this new series is a direct descendant of Cotton Mather who played a crucial role in the Salem Witch Trials. Entertainment Weekly interviewed Adriana Mather (http://www.ew.com/article/2016/08/19/adriana-mather-how-to-hang-witch) & she talks about the next book in the series How to Sink a Ship. Book 2 will have some of the witches from this first book however, it will be set around the events of the Titanic. I looked a bit further into this interesting author & it seems that she has some pretty heavy hitters for ancestors, some even from The Revolutionary War. I don’t think my background is as innnnneresting but who knows, she’s making me wonder…

Has anyone else read Leave Me by Gayle Forman? I’m interested to read some takes on it. If any of you happen to have partaken in Musing Monday’s today, drop that link in the comment box & I’ll swing on by 😉

Author: LairOfBooks

"Between The Pages Of A Book Is A Lovely Place To Be"-Anonymous

12 thoughts on “Musing Monday’s ”

    1. Why thank you my friend! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to do this one for a few weeks now but it being a Monday meme, has it’s own challenges due to the way office life flows on a Monday (but u know how that goes lol).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s the worse when it’s an ARC because I always feel obligated to finish the book and give it a full review since I got it for free, where if I paid for it myself and didn’t like it, I would just DNF and be done with it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I saw another person review How to Hang A Witch…they gave it three stars, I seem to recall. I hope you like it.
    I’m not a big fan of contemporary but I do hope you enjoy your reads! I’m about to post a review of one I just finished!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, in going in with low expectations that way in not too heartbroken. The Salem Witch trials have always interested me & I’ll always p/u a book with any reference to that period in our history. Look forward to reading your post, if u don’t see my comment it will prob be in your spam. From what I hear, blog administrators have to mark my comment as ‘not spam’ a few times to get the system to understand I’m not a bot or a marketer lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1) I’m sorry you are having a hard time connecting to the characters in Leave Me 😕 I haven’t read it but I’ve been seeing it around lately.

    2) I loved learning about the Salem Witch trials too!!! I adored The Crucible!! I would love to see how How to Hang A Witch turns out for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

