Waiting On Wednesday 


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at @Breaking The Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.


Title: The Valiant

Author: Lesley Livingston

Book: Hardcover, 288 pages

Expected Publication: February 14th 2017

Publisher: Razorbill Young Readers (Penguin Random House)






Edelweiss Synopsis:

A richly-imagined, gripping historical fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima,The Valiant recounts a seventeen-year-old’s tumultuous journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary female gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.

The youngest daughter of a proud Celtic king, Fallon has always lived in the shadow of her older sister Sorcha’s legendary reputation as a warrior. But when Fallon was a young child, the armies of Julius Caesar invaded the island of Britain and her beloved older sister was killed in battle.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her rightful place in her father’s royal war band. But she never gets the chance. Instead, Fallon is captured by a band of ruthless brigands who sell her to an exclusive training school for female gladiators—and its most influential patron is none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, Fallon’s worst enemy, the man who destroyed her family, might be her only hope of survival.

Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, chilling threats and the dangerous attention of Caesar himself to survive the deadly fights that take place both in and out of the arena—and claim her place in history among the Valiant. 

Reasons:

When a synopsis includes the words/names: Gladiators, Julius Caesar, Celtic King, fighting arena, and warrior…I stop for a moment of silence while I try to contain my excitement. Female warrior protagonists? *SqUEeee* & it’s being released on Valentine’s Day, what better gift to give myself? Ok! fangirling over lol. A school of female gladiator’s run by none other than Julius Caesar himself?!?! SIGN ME UP! to read all about it that is (Lol). I’m a sucker for a strong female protog who isn’t afraid to get down & dirty, throw in a bit of Rome & you’re basically serenading me. I also love the names Fallon & Sorcha, they scream Fantasy & that cover is AWESOME to say the least. I only wish that the book was a bit longer but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this is the beginning of a possible trilogy.

Slowly but surely we’ve been seeing YA branch into different sub-genres and Historical Fiction is finally getting some love. With some of the more popular books like Eleanor Herman’s Legacy of Kings & the collaborative project My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Asthon, and Jodi Meadows leading the way, I am hoping Lesley Livingston’s The Valiant joins their ranks & makes for a brutal & kick butt Valentine’s Day. Also, for those of you attending New York Comic Con this October like myself, Edelweiss has The Valiant listed for promotion at this event. So yes! I am already crossing my fingers & toes for the Book Gods to bless me with either a eGalley or physical ARC of The Valiant.

BTW, did any of you catch the “for fans of SJM & Cinda Williams Chima”? …Signed, Sealed, Delivered *sings* I’m YOURS!

Have any of you heard about The Valiant? If so, does it tickle your fancy? Eh? Lol. Feel free to drop THAT link with your Waiting On Wednesday’s. I have my Goodreads open & TBR ready for suggestions <3’s!
 
 

Advertisements

Author: LairOfBooks

"Between The Pages Of A Book Is A Lovely Place To Be"-Anonymous

40 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday ”

  1. Once I saw that cover, I was like TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!! And once I read the synopsis I was SOOOOLLLLLLLDDDDD!!! I love how different this one sounds. Never read anything about female gladiators…and lilly THERE IS A SCHOOL INVOLVED!! LAAWWWWDDDDD!! We need this asap! I’m getting some Nevernight feels with one and by that I mean another dark school in the mix…aaaooowwwww

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe you girl!!! cuz did you notice that we may have a chance to score a copy this October @ Comicon?!?! (btw passes arrived last night!!!) LOL. This is one of the ones I was telling you that I requested & poured my heart out to Edelweiss but they have me in suspense “pending” HAHA! I’m excited about the school setting as well, it’s been a minute since I’ve read anything that takes place in a school. I’m really hoping for a darker feel that is befitting of the history behind the gladiators 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OH YESSSSSS!!! (to your passes arriving lol). I really hope they do approve you. That would be freaking awesome. Have you seen the reviews on goodreads? Only 20 ratings but the book is 4.80 star rating. Holy craaaaaaap

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yea Lo was a bit peeved because they arrived in a standard envelope via regular postage mail but I was just happy to have them! lol. I did peek at the ratings & did a little happy dance, hope my spidey book senses have led me to a winner bwahaha!

    Like

    1. OMG YES! I’m seriously checking every day to see if the publisher has approved me but for some reason just forgot to let me know (not likely LOL). I have one more chance to possibly get it at Bookcon @ Comiccon this October (since it is listed for promotion) if they do show up…*holds breath*

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Omgosh this sounds sooooo good! Gah I need this book in my life like yesterday! I love anything to do with Rome, gladiators, Celtics and this book has it all 😍😍😍 Also I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a book with a female gladiator. I really hope this book is going to be kick ass because it so sounds like it will be!! Thanks for sharing! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly what I thought! Never read a story about a female gladiator but it sounds like what’s been missing in my life 😂😂😂 It’s like the perfect recipe & I’m really hoping it’s a winner cuz I have been eagerly anticipating it for a bit now. You’re very welcome 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ohh this book sounds amazing. I haven’t read anything be Lesley Livingston before but I will definitely be picking this book up when it’s released. The fact that it says it’s perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas makes me even more excited to get my hands on it, plus I agree with you on the fact that it’s great to see YA branching out into historical fiction. I really enjoyed My Lady Jane, And I Darken and The Song of Achilles so hopefully I’ll enjoy this one as well!
    Great pick for this week! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read anything by the author either but it feels like she had a checklist of things to put in the PERFECT BOOK FOR LILLY 😂😂😂 I’m really excited over this one & hope it doesn’t let me down but I also wish it was longer. SJM is Queen 👸🏻 so yea, Must Get! Loved My Lady Jane & I own And I Darken, currently trying to swim my way to the top of the book pile 😳lol thank you Beth! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If I enjoy this book when it’s released I may find myself going back and reading everything she’s released to date.
        But yeah it sounds perfect doesn’t it, and if it’s anything like SJM I’m guaranteed to love it too! 😀
        I hope you enjoy And I Darken, it wasn’t at all what I expected it would be but I still really enjoyed it! 😀
        That’s all right. ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Found this one in the spam folder *covers face* me of all people really should be doing a better job of checking that folder *note to self* I think Lara Croft meets Gladiator is a perfect way to describe this one. Ancient Rome, YESSSS!!! can’t wait for this one 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not sure what formula they follow but I’ve been using them more as a point of reference for their publishing catalogues, than requesting. I was declined 3 & have had 3 pending for too long. NetGalley on the other hand has been good to me & I have about 6 or 7 galleys from them to get through now.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I saw the words “for fans of SJM” and was like *intrigued* but then I saw Celtic king and Julis Ceasar as well along with fighting and warriors and female lead and I am so adding this to my TBR! I always love your Waiting On Wednesday posts. Though they make me TBR get longer 😂. You picked such great books and this one sounds really interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seriously been trying to reply to you since my 7am train (it’s now 9:45am) arrived but WordPress -_-. I’m loving that the ones that have been released have stirred up my interest & pushed me to go brush up on my History. Love the Janice gif btw! OH MY GAWD! lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well let’s hope I can get my hands on it 1st LOL! I’ve been waiting for a bit to hear back from Edelweiss but my luck with them so far as a whole hasn’t been as good as with Netgalley. Either way, I’m looking forward to picking this one up on release date or maybe even Bookcon in Oct *crosses fingers* thanks Stephanie 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s