Waiting On Wednesday


Devils & Thieves (Devils & Thieves #1) by Jennifer Rush

Publisher: Little Brown Books

Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Pages: 336 pages

*click on cover for Goodreads

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at @Breaking The Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

 thrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycle gangs from Jennifer Rush, author of the Altered saga–perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures.

Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael has grown up surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called “kindled,” and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. It doesn’t help that she was also recently snubbed by Crowe, the dangerous and enigmatic leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang and the unofficial head of their turf.

When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumor begins spreading that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her magic. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all.

No idea how Devils & Thieves managed to slip from under my radar but it did & so now I sit and wait til release day lol. A motorcycle crew that just so happen to wield magic? YES PLEASE! Set in a quiet New York town? aka my home city? YES PLEASE! threat of forbidden magic aka black magic? MHMMM, I’LL TAKE THAT! a main protagonist with untapped/unknown magic of her own? MY KRYPTONITE! As a big fan of the AMC tv series Sons of Anarchy, this book is practically shouting for me to read it & I shall heed the call 😉

Honestly, they had me atthrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycle gangs”  I’m hoping to love this 1st installment because I’ve been missing Sons of Anarchy something bad & the thought of those guys having magic at their disposal is a scary yet humorous thought. I’d welcome this new series (if I enjoy the 1st book) to fill the void SOA left in my little ❤ 😉

Any readers out there who have read Jennifer’s Altered series? I’m curious about her writing style & very excited to read Devils & Thieves *insert excited emoji*

Advertisements

Author: LairOfBooks

"Between The Pages Of A Book Is A Lovely Place To Be"-Anonymous

23 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday”

  1. As another SOA fanatic, I’d never heard of this book. I’m definitely checking this out, and seeing as it’s up on Netgalley I gave it a shot for a ARC. 🙂

    Thanks for spotlighting it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! us SOA fans are like horcruxes, so damn hard to find! LOL smh, underrated show for sure. I was declined on Netgalley but i’m not surprised seeing as I have no luck whatsoever with Little Brown Books lol. I wish you all the luck in getting approved, all us SOA fans need something to fill the void that show left *sobs* haha! Thank you for stopping by ❤

      Like

  2. COUNT ME IN! TAKE MY MONEY! When I saw the cover, I instantly thought SoA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lmao! and then I read your reasons and found myself giggling in my hair twin. This sounds like a perfect Fall read as well. Oh I cannot wait to snag this one hehehe, great pick ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bahhhhhha! I was 100% certain you would say that LOL! I love the cover & since its release date is in October, I will def be reading it in the Fall. Thanks twin, I hope we enjoy this one cuz it would be a welcome series to start 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great pick for this week Lilly, this sounds like a really interesting book and now I’ve read the blurb thanks to your WoW post I’ve definitely added this one to my to-read list! 😀 I think I have read some of Jennifer Rush’s Altered series, I don’t remember much so it likely wasn’t a stand out book for me but at the same time it means I didn’t have any issues with the plot or the writing either. I tend to only clearly remember the really good and the really bad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice Beth! I’m very excited for this title. Although I’ve never read Jennifers other series, i did check it out on Goodreads & saw that it had a high # of high ratings lol. I’m the same, only remember the terrible & the great which makes sense given the amount of books we read lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe if you enjoy this one you can get started on her other series then. If it has a high number of high ratings it must be pretty good right?
        Ha, yeah when you read a hundred books a year on average you just can’t remember them all can you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay, this sounds fantastic. I haven’t heard of it until now, either! But it’s got so many good things going for it. A motorcycle gang with magical powers?? Count me in. I haven’t watched Sons of Anararchy but this is making me want to haha. Great pick, Lilly! Thanks for bringing it to my attention 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am honestly not sure how I feel about this one haha. I don’t think I have read much urban fantasy though. Maybe I need to change that? I will wait for you and Gretchen to clue me in. *Goes to hide in corner because I have yet to start SOA*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s