#ARCSTRAVAGANZA #3: Warcross by Marie Lu


#ARCstravaganza is a weekly meme hosted by Krysti at YA and Wine and Sarah at The Clever Reader to give book bloggers/bookstagrammers a chance to show off those ARCs/eARCs/Galleys! Comment on their weekly posts with a link to your own #ARCstravaganza blog post, or post a pic on Instagram using the #ARCstravaganza hashtag, and you will be entered to win an ARC copy of an upcoming YA novel! One winner will be chosen at random each month!

Hello Readers! This is my 3rd week participating in #ARCstravaganza Monday & I’ve chosen a highly anticipated ARC that I’m really looking forward to get into and also very grateful to even own. This will be my very 1st read by Marie Lu even though I have The Young Elites sitting on my shelf (tbr Nov/Dec). I’ve heard many sing her praises and meeting her in person at Bookcon & seeing how sweet and just down to earth awesome she is really shed light on her fandom. Whelp, I’d like to join in the Marie Lu ❤ & I’m pretty sure this is a safe bet given all of the positive feedback that has already started streaming in over the interwebz 🙂


Warcross by Marie Lu

For more Bookish photos, follow LairOfBooks on Bookstagram

Warcross (Warcross #1) by Marie Lu 

Published by:   for Young Readers

Date of Publication: September 12th 2017

Genres: YA/Sc-Fi

Pages: 416

 

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

What are some ARCS/eGalleys you’re excited to have Bookworms? If you’ve participated in #ARCstravaganza this week, please feel free to drop your links & I’ll make my way around 😉


FOLLOW LAIR OF BOOKS ON…

Instagram: @LairOfBooks

Twitter: @LairOfBooks

Goodreads: LairOfBooks

Author: LairOfBooks

"Between The Pages Of A Book Is A Lovely Place To Be"-Anonymous

33 thoughts on “#ARCSTRAVAGANZA #3: Warcross by Marie Lu”

  1. Oh I really hope you enjoy this one Lilly. 🙂 ❤ After reading Marie Lu's Legend trilogy earlier this month I've just become all the more excited to get around to the rest of her books and now Warcross is one of my most anticipated releases of this year. I can't wait to get started on it. 😀
    Given this will be your first Marie Lu book if you enjoy it do you reckon you'll start her other two series? I haven't read The Young Elites yet but I've heard good things about it, and like I said I loved Legend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! I most def plan on reading The Young Elites either November/December. It was actually on my TBR before I was swamped with arcs & got pushed back for a bit. I’m looking forward to reading all of her books. I’m hoping to love Warcross as much as everyone else 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here, I own The Young Elites yet haven’t gotten around to it smh lol. This one def feels like it will appeal to many bookworms. Excited, hope you enjoy it as well 🙂

      Like

  2. yassss i cannot wait for us to read this one twin! it has so much rave reviews and i really hope you like her writing style this being your first book by her. i have a feeling that she might be a new fave for you *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am Super Stoked to read this one TWIN! I mean we def worked hard for this arc LMAO! Bookcon is NO joke smh, talk about survival of the fittest haha! Coming from you that means she most likely will be my new fave *whoop whoop* EeeeK! so many great new titles 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “survival of the fittest” ain’t that the truth lol! this book better be all the stars in the universe after everything we went through BAHA !! but i’m sure we will love it and devour it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Warcross sounds so good! I hope you love it. I also have The Young Elites sitting on my shelf unread, oops. Hopefully I’ll finally get around to reading it this year. I think I’ve had it for a couple years now haha.

    Like

  4. I’m really into Gamer Fiction now that I’ve read Snow Crash and Ready Player One, so this is high on my list. I have a feeling we will see a lot more books coming out in this genre over the next decade or so.

    I love that you’re participating in ARCstravaganza! I’ve been watching Krysti host this for a while now and it’s really fun. I haven’t participated yet, but I might in the future. I’m just not super great at keeping track of new ARCs! This is one of the many reasons I blog. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had Ready Player One on my TBR for WAYYYY too long now! I’d really like to read it before the movie released *fingers crossed* & that’s ok Jackie, I just recently made a system that works for me via handy excel spreadsheet lol. I’d also like to see more Gamer Fiction since I used to be a gamer & sometimes miss those days 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s super cool! It helps keep track of the ARCs and new release books you want to read or something? I’d love to learn more about it.

        Oh man, I miss the gaming days too. Back when I didn’t have a mortgage or to put food on the table. XD

        Like

  5. I’ve had my eye on this book for a while now! Congrats on scoring an ARC of it! I really do hope you enjoy it, especially since it’s your first Marie Lu book. If you happen to like this one, will you try out her Legend series. It’s one of my favorite series in YA and I’d love to see what you think of it. Also, I really liked The Young Elites, though not as much as Legend. Either way, I hope you end up loving Warcross and any of her other books if you choose to read them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do plan on reading her Young Elites series only because I’ve had them sitting on my shelves for over a year now 🙈 lol. I’ve heard so many great things about Lu so I’m e cited to check her out for myself, will most likely get to Legends as well in my quest to conquer my Ginormous TBR 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooooh haha. I’ve done the same thing with some books of mine. Bought them a while ago but still haven’t cracked them open because I got distracted by all the other books on my TBR #bookwormhabits LOL. I’m excited to see what you think of The Young Elites and Legend! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did 😀

        Like

    1. I’m so sorry for the late response, but i’m so happy to read of your approvals! I’m currently reading They Both Die at the End & prepping for the heartbreak lol. Like Water looks so interesting, LOVE the cover! I’ve been advised to read the Legend trilogy before I read Warcross for all of the easter eggs so it’s on hold lol. Hope you enjoy your new reads 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

