First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Every Tuesday, Diane over atย Bibliophile By the Seaย hostsย First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, where bloggers share the first paragraph of the book they are currently reading or thinking about reading soon.

Last night I finished Red Sister by Mark Lawrence a PHENOMENAL Adult Fantasy that i’m going to need a couple days to digest before I can write a worthy review. Today, instead of allowing myself to fall into the book hangover that is lingering on the fringes of my bookworm brain..I decided to take the plunge & start Defy the Stars. I am really hoping this one is just as good cuz ya girl just realized this one is 512 pages long, YIKES! haha! wish me luck my bookish peeps, i want to love it but after Red Sister the bar is set high & I’ll settle for like…i’ll take like! *ya hear me Book Gods?!?!*

*Defy The Stars by Claudia Gray will go on sale April 4th 2017

Goodreads Blurb

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis, once a colony of Earth that’s now at war for its independence. The humans of Genesis have fought Earth’s robotic “mech” armies for decades with no end in sight.

After a surprise attack, Noemi finds herself stranded in space on an abandoned ship where she meets Abel, the most sophisticated mech prototype ever made. One who should be her enemy. But Abel’s programming forces him to obey Noemi as his commander, which means he has to help her save Genesis–even though her plan to win the war will kill him.

Together they embark on a daring voyage through the galaxy. Before long, Noemi begins to realize Abel may be more than a machine, and, for his part, Abel’s devotion to Noemi is no longer just a matter of programming.

First Chapter/First Paragraph

In three weeks, Noemi Vidal will Die–here, In This very place. Today is just practice. Noemi wants to pray like the other soldiers she hears around her. The soft ebb and swell of their whispers sounds like waves against the shore. Zero-G even makes it look as if they’re underwater- their hair fanning out from their heads, their booted feet swaying out from their launch harnesses as if caught by the tide. Only the dark star field outside the few small windows reveals how far they are from home.

Confession: I am really still NOT over Gemina & my little heart was crushed last October at Bookcon when I arrived late at the booth for a free arc of this book. So, when I received the email notification giving this arc away on a firstย come first serve basis…I dropped everything I was doing & hopped on the dark vortex otherwise known as Netgalley. Hoping this one is a winner but i’ll def let ya’ll know if it’s not ๐Ÿ˜‰

Waiting On Wednesdayย 

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at @Breaking The Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that weโ€™re eagerly anticipating.


Title: The Valiant

Author: Lesley Livingston

Book: Hardcover, 288 pages

Expected Publication: February 14th 2017

Publisher: Razorbill Young Readers (Penguin Random House)






Edelweiss Synopsis:

A richly-imagined, gripping historical fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima,The Valiant recounts a seventeen-year-oldโ€™s tumultuous journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary female gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.

The youngest daughter of a proud Celtic king, Fallon has always lived in the shadow of her older sister Sorcha’s legendary reputation as a warrior. But when Fallon was a young child, the armies of Julius Caesar invaded the island of Britain and her beloved older sister was killed in battle.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her rightful place in her father’s royal war band. But she never gets the chance. Instead, Fallon is captured by a band of ruthless brigands who sell her to an exclusive training school for female gladiatorsโ€”and its most influential patron is none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, Fallon’s worst enemy, the man who destroyed her family, might be her only hope of survival.

Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, chilling threats and the dangerous attention of Caesar himself to survive the deadly fights that take place both in and out of the arenaโ€”and claim her place in history among the Valiant. 

Reasons:

When a synopsis includes the words/names: Gladiators, Julius Caesar, Celtic King, fighting arena, and warriorโ€ฆI stop for a moment of silence while I try to contain my excitement. Female warrior protagonists? *SqUEeee* & itโ€™s being released on Valentineโ€™s Day, what better gift to give myself? Ok! fangirling over lol. A school of female gladiatorโ€™s run by none other than Julius Caesar himself?!?! SIGN ME UP! to read all about it that is (Lol). Iโ€™m a sucker for a strong female protog who isnโ€™t afraid to get down & dirty, throw in a bit of Rome & youโ€™re basically serenading me. I also love the names Fallon & Sorcha, they scream Fantasy & that cover is AWESOME to say the least. I only wish that the book was a bit longer but Iโ€™m keeping my fingers crossed that this is the beginning of a possible trilogy.

Slowly but surely weโ€™ve been seeing YA branch into different sub-genres and Historical Fiction is finally getting some love. With some of the more popular books like Eleanor Hermanโ€™s Legacy of Kings & the collaborative project My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Asthon, and Jodi Meadows leading the way, I am hoping Lesley Livingstonโ€™s The Valiant joins their ranks & makes for a brutal & kick butt Valentineโ€™s Day. Also, for those of you attending New York Comic Con this October like myself, Edelweiss has The Valiant listed for promotion at this event. So yes! I am already crossing my fingers & toes for the Book Gods to bless me with either a eGalley or physical ARC of The Valiant.

BTW, did any of you catch the โ€œfor fans of SJM & Cinda Williams Chimaโ€? โ€ฆSigned, Sealed, Delivered *sings* Iโ€™m YOURS!

Have any of you heard about The Valiant? If so, does it tickle your fancy? Eh? Lol. Feel free to drop THAT link with your Waiting On Wednesdayโ€™s. I have my Goodreads open & TBR ready for suggestions <3โ€™s!
 
 

Top 5 Wednesdayย 

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey & is now moderated by Sam from Thoughts On Tomes. Each week thereโ€™s a different bookish related topic (this varies & isnโ€™t always strictly books) & you get to list your top 5 books or bookish answers related to the topic.ย This weekโ€™s topic is Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone:

1. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Although I love Fantasy, Iโ€™ve mostly read Young Adult Fantasy. This was my first โ€œAdultโ€ Fantasy read & it was not an easy one to really get into. The characters in this trilogy are all shades of effed up (especially our Protagonist lol) and it is super slow to begin with but ultimately I ended up falling in love with the world, characters, and story.


2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

My first Magical Realism read & I had no clue what MR was until I read A Monster Calls. This book broke my heart into a million little pieces. A Monster Calls is sad & beautiful but the Magical Realism aspects MADE this story for me. Iโ€™m now always on the lookout for a good MR read. I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton, another Magical Realism story & loved it.



3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
This book was definitely out of my comfort zone because I REALLY disliked Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (another circus themed book). It has been years since I read Water for Elephants that I totally forgot I DNFโ€™d 80% in. I was weary of picking up The Night Circus but Iโ€™m so glad that I did. Erin Morgenstern made the circus come to life with lush details & oddball characters. The writing alone made this book one of my ALL time favorites.


4. Why Not Me? By Mindy Khaling
Books by comedians. I’d rather listen than read the works of some of my favorite funny people but I made an exception for Mindy Khaling since she is a Godess in my eyes lol (totally obsessed with The Mindy Project, can we discuss that finale?!?!). No regrets here, she actually still comes off funny on paper. I enjoyed Why Not Me? More than other similar books I’ve read by famous comedians. I’m even looking forward to *crosses fingers* Amy Schumer’s new book The Girl With The Lower Back Tattooย later thisย this year.



5. Burying Water series by K.A. Tucker

New Adult. I’m a newbie to this genre & I have Gretchen over @Chicnerdreads to thank for my newfound addiction. I can’t say much about this new genre (yes, I’m calling it a genre) other than what I’ve read, I have really enjoyed. This is a series that I’ve been reading in btwn my other books & it keeps me from falling into a reading slump. It also doesn’t hurt that K.A. Tucker can write a hell of a character! I have gone through it with these books lol but she is a now a favorite of mine.

img_1136