WWW Wednesday


WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On a World of Words and to participate all you have to do is answer the three W’s listed below. Once you’ve posted your WWW, drop a link to your post in Sam’s comments <3’s!

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

 

www-wednesdays

CURRENTLY READING

Ink & Bone by Lisa Unger

ik-bone

Goodreads

I have about 100 pages left in this Mystery Thriller with psychics & JEEEEEZ! I’m at the edge of my seat seriously trying to keep it together here HAHA! Really enjoying this one Gals & Ghouls. Pick this one up if you’re looking for a quick & suspenseful read 😉

The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

amy-schumer

Goodreads

Just started this in audiobook format yesterday & i’m about 35% in, so far it’s OK. I think my expectations are a bit high coming off of listening and LOVING Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy OR it really is just OK *shrugs shoulders* I will say that Amy doesn’t hold back and has no hair on her tongue which I admire. I’ve had a few awkward moments listening to this audiobook while multi-tasking outdoors. For example, paying for my lunch while listening to Amy describe orgasms…even though I knew the cashier couldn’t hear what I was listening to, I still managed to look like a deer caught in the headlights *hides face*

What did you recently finish reading?

Unnatural deeds by Cyn Balog

unnatural-deeds-by-cyna-balog

Goodreads

I recently read & reviewed Unnatural Deeds (here) by Cyn Balog my very 1st YA Thriller which I succeeded in discussing with NO Spoilers. This is a book you want to go into completely blind. I knew there were some mixed reviews out there but I made sure to stay clear of them & it turns out that I enjoyed this one a whole lot. Unnatural Deeds will hit the shelves November 1st.2016

What do you think you’ll read next?

Gemina by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff

Goodreads

Words cannot describe how I felt when I read the last page to Illuminae a few months back smh but i’ll try…EPIC ADRENALINE RUSH!!!! that book left me reeling & jumping off my couch whooping & hollerin (haha) in the middle of the night. The wait for Gemina has been in the back of my mind ever since but I finally have what i’ve come to call Baby Blue in my hands! I reserved her in store this morning & hubby went and picked her up after work. Best day EVER Gals & Ghouls!!! I will be starting Gemina this week without a shadow of a doubt 😉

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartless-cover

Goodreads

Heartless has been on my list of most highly anticipated books of 2016, I nearly passed out when I managed to score an ARC at Comic Con/Bookcon earlier this month (Bookcon haul post). I went to the booth simply because I wanted a Heartless Tee & instead walked away with the beauty that is this book *silent thank you to Fierce Reads* I will be reading & reviewing Heartless right after Gemina since this is a November release. *Squeee* I can’t remember the last time I was this excited over so many good book releases in 1 season! *Happy Fall All*

Did any of you participate in WWW Wednesday? if so, drop that link & i’ll swing by  your blog for a peek. Also, I can’t stay calm…GEMINA HAS ARRIVED!!!!! ***whoop Whoop*

Author: LairOfBooks

"I didn't choose the Book Life, the Book Life chose me"

50 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday”

    1. Yes for Heartless! 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼 I saw that this weeks topic was a bit of a toughie: non-canon characters you would ship? I’d be sitting here for days thinking of this one because I tend to like the ships as they are but maybe that’s just me 🤔

      Like

  1. Sorry Schumer is only OK. I like some of her comedy but I’ve not followed her enough to say if I’m a big fan or not. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. !! I started Amy Schumer’s audiobook two days ago as well! While I don’t mind the orgasm talk (okay, I’d probably get nervous too if I was listening to it in public XD), I just listened to the part where she describes how being a nouveau riche is “SO much fun!” (never taking things for granted but spending it like there’s no tomorrow?). I honestly thought it was annoying and awkward. Especially when the part about it seemed to go on forever. We know it now. You’re rich. Geez! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! Haha! I don’t mind the orgasm talk but when faced with a sweet little old Asian lady trying to take my order, it was a bit awkward 😂😂😂 & yea I agree that part was a bit annoying. I’m about 45% in now & it seems like she hasn’t had it easy getting to where she’s at now. She’s mentioned the slew of oddball jobs she’s taken before fame & those parts were a little entertaining. I dunno, I’ve always liked her but the book is falling a bit flat for me maybe? lol smh I really wanted to LOVE this book. Next up is prob Anna Kendricks book 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL! Yeah, that just screams awkward XD Aye, just when I thought it was getting nowhere, there was the chapter on her stuffed animals, though XD. Are you going to review this one on your blog? I’m still not sure how I should tackle the audiobook review approach. Anna Kendrick’s book…wasn’t there some vaginal pedophilia going on in there or something? :’) (if so, I’m game! XD)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ha! I’ve been wondering the same exact thing since last night, I reviewed Furiously Happy the audiobook & thought I managed well enough lol. For some reason, I’m struggling with this one. Usually as I’m listening I either take notes here or there but it hasn’t happened yet lol. I’m at the 52% mark & I just passed a pretty serious chapter. I haven’t heard about he vaginal pedophilia Lmfao!!! I thought that was Lena Dunham’s book? 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, you did! 😀 I think this one has such random chapters that it’s pretty hard to review it without having to write stuff down. I haven’t taken any notes either so far, though. Hmmmmmm *strokes chin*. Omg, you’re totally right! We hear Jack Shit over here about American female comedians so I’m on a journey of self-discovery! (not referring to my vagina here, tyvm :’) ). But yes, Lena Dunham it is, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thanks Anne 😊 & I agree that it is a toughie to review, it legit is a series of “essays” this is probably going to be a short review for me touching on some stand-out chapters maybe? I dunno 😂 I have a few that I want to get to…next up is Anna Kendrick’s book & possibly Amy Poehlr’s Yes Please! I read Tina Fey’s Bossy Pants instead of the audiobook & it wasn’t the same lol. I think she may have another book out & if so then I’d give that one a whirl on audiobook. I tried Aziz, wasn’t what I expected & I never finished it 😔

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Stand-out chapters sounds like a good idea! I listened to the first 5 minutes of Amy Poehler’s book, but she talks too fast for me to be able to multitask or fall asleep to XD. I tried Aziz’s as well and really liked the extras he did for the audiobook, but yeah, haven’t finished that one either ;). I’m probably going to give Sarah Silverman a whirl after this one!

        Like

    1. Lmao!!! @ earplugs smh, I swear I’ve never felt icky about anything x-rated but It’s Amy Schumer we’re talking about & I was really trying to focus on the cashier haha! I highly recommend Ink & Bone, last 20 pgs now 😬😬

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow! Now I have to go and order Heartless too!!! 🙂 I’d managed to forget this was coming out so soon! I’ve already heard whispers that it’s amazing 🙂 It’ll have to be pretty brilliant to get up to the standards of the Lunar Chronicles. Will she be able to create another character as adorable as Thorne?! haha!

    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/www-wednesday-19th-october-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree but from what I’ve seen & heard, Heartless is getting positive feedback. I’m excited to see what Marissa Meyer has created this time around, love her story telling skills lol. I think we’ll get some interesting characters. I met her at a signing & I still remember her saying that Thorne was a character who wrote himself. He just walked on to the page with his larger than life personality 😂😂😂 can’t wait to start this one 😆 thank you for stopping by my WWW💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really hope you enjoy Gemina, I can’t believe it’s finally been released because I still have to wait a few more days before my copy is dispatched and delivered from Amazon (I have already read this book, but I’m still just as excited to get my hands on my actual copy as well). Same with Heartless as well. That is one of my most anticipated reads of this year because I love Marissa Meyer and Alice in Wonderland so the two of them together is bound to be a major win! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Beth! Can’t wait to start it as soon as I get this Ink & Bone review drafted. I opted to pick it up in store since my est. delivery date was a possible Friday to my job. Didn’t want to risk it running into the wknd since I don’t work on wknds. If anyone can do a re-telling it’s Marissa Meyer, I have faith she will deliver lol 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m starting to weight the benefits of buying books in store, on one hand they are a little more expensive but on the other you can get them that little bit quicker. I definitely agree, Marissa Meyer is an amazing author so I’m sure Heartless will be brilliant! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was $4 more but it’s in my hands now vs. possibly missing my delivery on a Friday and having to wait til Monday when I’m back in the office smh nOpe! Never again after EOS 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think that’s worth the $4 more. I’d be the same if I was possibly going to miss a delivery. Ohh, is that what happened with your copy of EoS then! I can’t even imagine that, but I get all my book mail delivered to me at home. 🙂

        Like

  5. I definitely need to look into Ink and Bone! It looks like a good read. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you liked Unnatural Deeds. I haven’t really seen any reviews for it, but I do remember seeing some people saying they weren’t big fans of it. I hope you end up enjoying Gemina and Heartless!!
    And thanks for stopping by WWW earlier!

    Like

  6. It’s hard for a book, audio or not, to come after Furiously Happy 🙂 I am on the fence about Amy’s book, I don’t really know/like her, but I heard it’s a nice audiobook. Gemina is everywhere! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg yes! I agree, I should’ve just gone with Lawson’s other book with the cute dressed up mouse or hamster or who knows lol!
      I’m also on the fence about Amy’s book smh I actually like her but she goes from humble to braggy too often in this book. It’s odd but I’m giving it til the end. Gemina is GORGE! Started it on my train ride to work & already absorbed into that galaxy 🌌

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lmao! You will NOT be disappointed with Furiously Happy, it’s a fave! Although I do wonder if the audiobook is better being that she narrates it herself, ah well! Either way, a great read! I was so close to using my coupon today but couldn’t justify a purchase lmao! Still so undecided 😕 smh spend away Gretchen! Spend away! As long as it’s on good books 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I agree with “most of the time” this book is turning out to be just ok, but I may just be judging it too harshly after the phenomenal Furiously Happy. It’s written as a series of essays but there’s this awkward flow. I’d def read Amy’s book 1st & then Jenny’s FH 😉

      Like

      1. I’d like to hear/read your thoughts on Stealing Snow, I’ve heard so many mixed reviews. *correction- currently reading & LOVING Gemina 😂 I keep mixing the two up. Illuminate was a 5 star read for me. Although the format was intimidating at first, once I started I couldn’t stop & it was also a quick read 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  7. “paying for my lunch while listening to Amy describe orgasms…even though I knew the cashier couldn’t hear what I was listening to, I still managed to look like a deer caught in the headlights *hides face*”
    OMG!! I literally laughed out loud at this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m just so glad that the wait for Heartless is almost finally over! I think I’ll be buying it on Nov 8 just to have it and not have to deal with waiting for it from the library. I know I have so many books ahead of it, but I have been DYING to read it ever since I’ve heard about it, and I can’t believe the time has finally come! 👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea only a few more days to go, Gretchen at Chicnerdreads & I will be buddy reading Heartless starting tomorrow 😬😬😬 hoping it’s everything & more, have a feeling it will be cuz it’s the queen of fairy take re-tellings 🙌🏼

      Like

Leave a comment